Author Topic: Stereo audio channels swapped?  (Read 1722 times)

Skirmisher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Stereo audio channels swapped?
« on: August 14, 2020, 01:08:40 pm »
I noticed a good while back (when first starting to use the Blackbird) that the sound card seemed to have the stereo channels in the wrong order. I tested with multiple audio devices to be completely sure. Has anyone else noticed this, or is it an isolated issue? (The workaround is trivial since I can remap the channels with a PulseAudio config with no negative impact, but I'm still rather curious.)

Borley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Stereo audio channels swapped?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2022, 11:22:38 pm »
I've had to swap my headphones L/R around physically a couple of times before I finally figured out that the CM106 sound device had the channels mixed up. You're not the only one.
Blackbird C1P9S01, CPU 02CY650, 2x 8GB 2666 RAM, 1024GB M.2 SSD, AMD RX 560X, 2U heatsink, 500W SFX PSU, Debian 11

r34per

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Stereo audio channels swapped?
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2022, 01:26:50 pm »
I fought with getting the 5.1 channels right for days on fedora I just gave up and threw in a sound blaster z. All the cahnnels seem to map right with that card OOTB.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2022, 01:28:49 pm by r34per »

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • Karma: +32/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Stereo audio channels swapped?
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2022, 03:48:25 pm »
I use the audio of the AMD GPU.

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: Stereo audio channels swapped?
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2022, 11:13:38 am »
I don't recall this being a problem on the optical output (which I feed into a Denon receiver), but maybe I'm just not discriminating enough.