Author Topic: AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!  (Read 242 times)

tle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +36/-0
    • View Profile
    • Trung's Personal Website
AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!
« on: November 08, 2022, 02:37:45 am »
EDIT: Kernel 6.1.0.rc3 (64K pagesize) has finally get this card working! - no need to add any amdgpu.dc or aspm option

TL;DR

  • 5.19.x - NOT WORKING
  • 6.0.x - NOT WORKING
  • 6.1.0-rc3 - WORKING
  • 6.1.0-rc5 - WORKING

The last time I touched Navi was 2 years ago. I could not get 6900 XT card running on Kernel 5.15.x.

Well time to try again with the Powercolor Fighter 6600 XT (just because its dimension fit the Blackbird)

I find that there is no video output signal after restarting. I have to power off then on to address this issue.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2022, 09:56:53 pm by tle »
Faithful Linux enthusiast

My Raptor Blackbird

tle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +36/-0
    • View Profile
    • Trung's Personal Website
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT - attempt #2
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2022, 03:07:50 am »
Adding amdgpu.aspm=0 does not fix the issue for kernel 6.0.x
« Last Edit: November 08, 2022, 09:26:14 am by tle »
Faithful Linux enthusiast

My Raptor Blackbird

MauryG5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
  • Karma: +21/-1
    • View Profile
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT - attempt #2
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2022, 05:52:48 am »
From version 5.17 onwards, that line is no longer needed, so the problem is still the same apparently ... AMD's rdna 2 doesn't work on power and this is very strange.  At this point I would say that the only ones who can do something are the Raptor team, as they did for 10 ships ... I don't see any other way, it's been 2 years and we still can't use rdna 2 ...

tle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +36/-0
    • View Profile
    • Trung's Personal Website
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT - attempt #2
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2022, 06:27:34 am »
Using amdgpu.dc=0 does not hang on boot up however the module is still not loaded correctly for kernel 6.0.x

Code: [Select]
[   22.872272] PCI 0000:03:00.0#0000: EEH: Invoking amdgpu->slot_reset()
[   22.872278] [drm] PCI error: slot reset callback!!
[   22.951773] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: enabling device (0140 -> 0142)
[   22.951785] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Force to snoop mode by module option
[   22.971964] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/0000:03:00.1/sound/card1/input16
[   22.972085] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/0000:03:00.1/sound/card1/input17
[   22.972174] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=8 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/0000:03:00.1/sound/card1/input18
[   22.972262] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=9 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/0000:03:00.1/sound/card1/input19
[   22.972349] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=10 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0/0000:01:00.0/0000:02:00.0/0000:03:00.1/sound/card1/input20
[   23.640111] [drm] free PSP TMR buffer
[   23.661145] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: GPU reset succeeded, trying to resume
[   23.661453] [drm] PCIE GART of 512M enabled (table at 0x00000081FEB00000).
[   23.661504] [drm] VRAM is lost due to GPU reset!
[   23.661505] [drm] PSP is resuming...
[   23.755168] [drm] reserve 0xa00000 from 0x81fd000000 for PSP TMR
[   23.864648] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
[   23.886674] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SECUREDISPLAY: securedisplay ta ucode is not available
[   23.886680] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU is resuming...
[   23.886685] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: smu driver if version = 0x0000000f, smu fw if version = 0x00000013, smu fw program = 0, version = 0x003b2900 (59.41.0)
[   23.886692] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU driver if version not matched
[   23.886753] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: use vbios provided pptable
[   23.940708] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU is resumed successfully!
[   23.942547] [drm] kiq ring mec 2 pipe 1 q 0
[   23.945298] [drm] VCN decode and encode initialized successfully(under DPG Mode).
[   23.945304] [drm] JPEG decode initialized successfully.
[   23.945316] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring gfx_0.0.0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 0
[   23.945319] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 0
[   23.945323] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.0 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 0
[   23.945326] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.0 uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 0
[   23.945330] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.0 uses VM inv eng 6 on hub 0
[   23.945333] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.1 uses VM inv eng 7 on hub 0
[   23.945336] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.1 uses VM inv eng 8 on hub 0
[   23.945339] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.1 uses VM inv eng 9 on hub 0
[   23.945342] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.1 uses VM inv eng 10 on hub 0
[   23.945346] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring kiq_2.1.0 uses VM inv eng 11 on hub 0
[   23.945349] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma0 uses VM inv eng 12 on hub 0
[   23.945352] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma1 uses VM inv eng 13 on hub 0
[   23.945355] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_dec_0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 1
[   23.945359] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc_0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 1
[   23.945362] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc_0.1 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 1
[   23.945365] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring jpeg_dec uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 1
[   24.241342] tg3 0004:01:00.1 enP4p1s0f1: Link is up at 1000 Mbps, full duplex
[   24.241353] tg3 0004:01:00.1 enP4p1s0f1: Flow control is on for TX and on for RX
[   24.241358] tg3 0004:01:00.1 enP4p1s0f1: EEE is enabled
[   24.241377] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): enP4p1s0f1: link becomes ready
[   24.291735] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU: response:0xFFFFFFFF for index:40 param:0x00000000 message:AllowGfxOff?
[   24.291742] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Failed to enable gfxoff!
[   25.203631] [drm] Register(0) [mmUVD_PGFSM_STATUS] failed to reach value 0x00800000 != 0x00c00000
[   25.203634] [drm:jpeg_v3_0_set_powergating_state [amdgpu]] *ERROR* amdgpu: JPEG enable power gating failed
[   25.203813] [drm:amdgpu_device_ip_set_powergating_state [amdgpu]] *ERROR* set_powergating_state of IP block <jpeg_v3_0> failed -110
[   25.271819] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: [drm:amdgpu_ib_ring_tests [amdgpu]] *ERROR* IB test failed on gfx_0.0.0 (-110).
[   25.272033] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ib ring test failed (-110).
[   25.272035] [drm:amdgpu_pci_slot_reset [amdgpu]] *ERROR* PCIe error recovery failed, err:-11
[   25.272289] PCI 0000:03:00.0#0000: EEH: amdgpu driver reports: 'disconnect'
[   25.272294] PCI 0000:03:00.1#0000: EEH: driver not EEH aware
[   25.272297] EEH: Finished:'slot_reset' with aggregate recovery state:'disconnect'
[   25.272299] EEH: Unable to recover from failure from PHB#0-PE#0.
               Please try reseating or replacing it
[   25.272346] EEH: of node=0000:03:00.0
[   25.272349] EEH: PCI device/vendor: 73ff1002
[   25.272352] EEH: PCI cmd/status register: 00100546
[   25.272353] EEH: PCI-E capabilities and status follow:
[   25.272361] EEH: PCI-E 00: 0012a010 00008fa1 00002930 00440d04
[   25.272368] EEH: PCI-E 10: 11040040 00000000 00000000 00000000
[   25.272370] EEH: PCI-E 20: 00000000
[   25.272372] EEH: PCI-E AER capability register set follows:
[   25.272380] EEH: PCI-E AER 00: 20020001 00000000 00000000 00462030
[   25.272386] EEH: PCI-E AER 10: 00000000 00002000 000001f4 60008002
[   25.272393] EEH: PCI-E AER 20: 000000ff 00060002 00000458 00000000
[   25.272396] EEH: PCI-E AER 30: 00000000 00000000
[   25.272398] EEH: of node=0000:03:00.1
[   25.272401] EEH: PCI device/vendor: ab281002
[   25.272403] EEH: PCI cmd/status register: 00100546
[   25.272405] EEH: PCI-E capabilities and status follow:
[   25.272413] EEH: PCI-E 00: 0012a010 00008fa1 00002930 00440d04
[   25.272420] EEH: PCI-E 10: 11040000 00000000 00000000 00000000
[   25.272421] EEH: PCI-E 20: 00000000
[   25.272422] EEH: PCI-E AER capability register set follows:
[   25.272430] EEH: PCI-E AER 00: 2a020001 00000000 00000000 00462030
[   25.272437] EEH: PCI-E AER 10: 00000000 00002000 000001f4 60008002
[   25.272444] EEH: PCI-E AER 20: 000000ff 00060002 00000458 00000000
[   25.272447] EEH: PCI-E AER 30: 00000000 00000000
[   25.272448] PHB4 PHB#0 Diag-data (Version: 1)
[   25.272450] brdgCtl:    00000002
[   25.272451] RootSts:    00000020 00402000 a0840008 00100107 00001000
[   25.272454] RootErrSts: 00000000 00008000 00000000
[   25.272456] PhbSts:     0000001c00000000 0000001c00000000
[   25.272458] Lem:        0000000100280000 0000000000000000 0000000100000000
[   25.272460] PhbErr:     0000088000000000 0000008000000000 2148000098000240 a008400000000000
[   25.272463] RxeArbErr:  8000200000000000 0000200000000000 02409fde30000000 0000000000000000
[   25.272465] PblErr:     0000000008000000 0000000008000000 0000000000000000 0000000000000000
[   25.272467] PcieDlp:    0000000000000000 0000000000000000 003e000000000000
[   25.272469] RegbErr:    0000004000000000 0000004000000000 61000c4800000000 0000000000000000
[   25.272471] PE[000] A/B: a480002a03000000 8000000000000000
[   25.272475] EEH: Beginning: 'error_detected(permanent failure)'
[   25.272477] PCI 0000:03:00.0#0000: EEH: not actionable (1,1,1)
[   25.272480] PCI 0000:03:00.1#0000: EEH: not actionable (1,1,1)
[   25.272483] EEH: Finished:'error_detected(permanent failure)'
[   25.272490] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Unable to change power state from D3hot to D0, device inaccessible
[   25.438093] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: CORB reset timeout#2, CORBRP = 65535
[   25.563160] [drm] Register(0) [mmUVD_POWER_STATUS] failed to reach value 0x00000001 != 0x00000003
[   25.791667] [drm] Register(0) [mmUVD_RBC_RB_RPTR] failed to reach value 0x7fffffff != 0xffffffff
[   25.931939] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: Unable to sync register 0x2f0d00. -5
[   25.931954] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: HDMI ATI/AMD: no speaker allocation for ELD
[   25.931967] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: HDMI ATI/AMD: no speaker allocation for ELD
[   25.931978] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: HDMI ATI/AMD: no speaker allocation for ELD
[   25.931988] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: HDMI ATI/AMD: no speaker allocation for ELD
[   25.931999] snd_hda_codec_hdmi hdaudioC1D0: HDMI ATI/AMD: no speaker allocation for ELD
[   26.020486] [drm] Register(0) [mmUVD_POWER_STATUS] failed to reach value 0x00000001 != 0x00000003
[   26.020493] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU: response:0xFFFFFFFF for index:13 param:0x00000000 message:GetEnabledSmuFeaturesHigh?
[   26.020496] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Failed to retrieve enabled ppfeatures!
[   26.020500] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU: response:0xFFFFFFFF for index:34 param:0x00000001 message:SetWorkloadMask?
[   26.472038] pci 0000:03:00.1: Removing from iommu group 0
[   26.522476] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: amdgpu: finishing device.
[   29.681569] rfkill: input handler disabled
[   30.772394] amdgpu: cp queue pipe 4 queue 0 preemption failed
[   31.022566] [drm] Register(0) [mmUVD_PGFSM_STATUS] failed to reach value 0x00800000 != 0x00c00000
[   31.022571] [drm:jpeg_v3_0_set_powergating_state [amdgpu]] *ERROR* amdgpu: JPEG enable power gating failed
[   31.254216] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: [drm:amdgpu_ring_test_helper [amdgpu]] *ERROR* ring kiq_2.1.0 test failed (-110)
[   31.254384] [drm:gfx_v10_0_hw_fini [amdgpu]] *ERROR* KGQ disable failed
[   31.483451] [drm:gfx_v10_0_cp_gfx_enable.isra.0 [amdgpu]] *ERROR* failed to halt cp gfx
[   31.483691] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU: response:0xFFFFFFFF for index:13 param:0x00000000 message:GetEnabledSmuFeaturesHigh?
[   31.483696] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Failed to retrieve enabled ppfeatures!
[   31.483703] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU: response:0xFFFFFFFF for index:7 param:0x00000000 message:DisableAllSmuFeatures?
[   31.483708] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Failed to disable smu features.
[   31.483712] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Fail to disable dpm features!

« Last Edit: November 08, 2022, 09:26:26 am by tle »
Faithful Linux enthusiast

My Raptor Blackbird

tle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +36/-0
    • View Profile
    • Trung's Personal Website
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT - attempt #2
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2022, 06:54:06 am »
OMG OMG! FINALLY IT WORKS!

Yes 6.1.0-rc3 has done it!

Code: [Select]
$ uname -ar
Linux shrimp-paste 6.1.0-0.rc3.20221102git8f71a2b3f435.29.fc38.ppc64le #1 SMP Wed Nov  2 18:01:33 UTC 2022 ppc64le ppc64le ppc64le GNU/Linux
$ dmesg | grep amdgpu
[   10.302766] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[   10.303105] amdgpu: CRAT table disabled by module option
[   10.303112] amdgpu: DSDT table not found for OEM information
[   10.303116] amdgpu: IO link not available for non x86 platforms
[   10.303120] amdgpu: Virtual CRAT table created for CPU
[   10.303347] amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node
[   10.303771] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console
[   10.304485] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: enabling device (0140 -> 0142)
[   10.342802] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Fetched VBIOS from ROM BAR
[   10.342813] amdgpu: ATOM BIOS: 113-D53201XT-016
[   10.342848] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Trusted Memory Zone (TMZ) feature disabled as experimental (default)
[   10.342863] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: PCIE atomic ops is not supported
[   10.343375] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: BAR 2: releasing [mem 0x6000010000000-0x60000101fffff 64bit pref]
[   10.343383] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: BAR 0: releasing [mem 0x6000000000000-0x600000fffffff 64bit pref]
[   10.343608] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: BAR 0: assigned [mem 0x6000000000000-0x60001ffffffff 64bit pref]
[   10.343629] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: BAR 2: assigned [mem 0x6000200000000-0x60002001fffff 64bit pref]
[   10.343746] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: VRAM: 8176M 0x0000008000000000 - 0x00000081FEFFFFFF (8176M used)
[   10.343753] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: GART: 512M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000001FFFFFFF
[   10.343760] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: AGP: 267894784M 0x0000008400000000 - 0x0000FFFFFFFFFFFF
[   10.343782] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: dma_iommu_get_required_mask: returning bypass mask 0xfffffffffffffff
[   10.344985] [drm] amdgpu: 8176M of VRAM memory ready
[   10.344992] [drm] amdgpu: 32434M of GTT memory ready.
[   10.360605] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: PSP runtime database doesn't exist
[   10.360611] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: PSP runtime database doesn't exist
[   22.593050] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: STB initialized to 2048 entries
[   22.664853] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Will use PSP to load VCN firmware
[   22.861984] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
[   22.884307] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SECUREDISPLAY: securedisplay ta ucode is not available
[   22.884383] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: smu driver if version = 0x0000000f, smu fw if version = 0x00000013, smu fw program = 0, version = 0x003b2900 (59.41.0)
[   22.884394] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU driver if version not matched
[   22.884437] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: use vbios provided pptable
[   22.937766] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SMU is initialized successfully!
[   22.961775] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: bound 0000:03:00.0 (ops amdgpu_dm_audio_component_bind_ops [amdgpu])
[   23.163364] kfd kfd: amdgpu: Allocated 3969056 bytes on gart
[   23.163574] amdgpu: sdma_bitmap: ffff
[   23.263214] amdgpu: HMM registered 8176MB device memory
[   23.263733] amdgpu: Virtual CRAT table created for GPU
[   23.265716] amdgpu: Topology: Add dGPU node [0x73ff:0x1002]
[   23.265727] kfd kfd: amdgpu: added device 1002:73ff
[   23.265755] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: SE 2, SH per SE 2, CU per SH 8, active_cu_number 32
[   23.266360] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring gfx_0.0.0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 0
[   23.266363] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 0
[   23.266366] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.0 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 0
[   23.266369] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.0 uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 0
[   23.266372] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.0 uses VM inv eng 6 on hub 0
[   23.266375] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.1 uses VM inv eng 7 on hub 0
[   23.266378] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.1 uses VM inv eng 8 on hub 0
[   23.266381] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.1 uses VM inv eng 9 on hub 0
[   23.266384] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.1 uses VM inv eng 10 on hub 0
[   23.266387] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring kiq_2.1.0 uses VM inv eng 11 on hub 0
[   23.266390] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma0 uses VM inv eng 12 on hub 0
[   23.266392] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma1 uses VM inv eng 13 on hub 0
[   23.266395] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_dec_0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 1
[   23.266398] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc_0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 1
[   23.266401] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc_0.1 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 1
[   23.266404] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: ring jpeg_dec uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 1
[   23.267372] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Using BACO for runtime pm
[   23.273569] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.49.0 20150101 for 0000:03:00.0 on minor 0
[   23.284168] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: [drm] fb0: amdgpudrmfb frame buffer device
Faithful Linux enthusiast

My Raptor Blackbird

sharkcz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2022, 09:17:21 am »
That's an awesome news! Now to keep watching it if it continues to work in the future. But this is an important milestone. I would suggest to use https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RawhideKernelNodebug to get all the RCs for the upcoming kernel even when running stable Fedoras. I have it enabled myself and it has already proved useful.

tle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +36/-0
    • View Profile
    • Trung's Personal Website
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2022, 09:24:03 am »
FYI I've updated RaptorCS Wiki

Now I am curious if other 6000 series card would work with kernel 6.1.0.
Faithful Linux enthusiast

My Raptor Blackbird

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Karma: +32/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2022, 02:14:51 pm »
Cool. Hopefully RDNA3 will work as well.

MauryG5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
  • Karma: +21/-1
    • View Profile
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2022, 04:18:26 pm »
Ah well good news, I would say finally! So I deduce that from kernel version 6.1 onwards, you can finally use an RDNA 2 6xxx card! It's been too long in fact, let's hope it doesn't have to pass the same time for RDNA 3 at this point ...

rheaplex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD Radeon 6600 XT working with kernel 6.1.0!
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2022, 12:29:45 am »
My 9100 is still cursed. But it does seem to be getting closer to working on anything other than 5.5 4k.  :)