Author Topic: [GAME] vkQuake runs Quake 1 (shareware) perfectly  (Read 115 times)

tle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ruby Journal
[GAME] vkQuake runs Quake 1 (shareware) perfectly
« on: February 16, 2020, 07:02:40 am »
Yup the vkQuake, vulkan port of Quake runs flawlessly on my Fedora 32 (rawhide) box. The `make` does complain about missing `-lvulkan` which can be solved easily by doing soft link
Code: [Select]
sudo ln -sf /usrlib64/libvulkan.so.1.2.131 /usr/lib64/libvulkan.so
« Last Edit: April 26, 2020, 12:15:14 am by tle »
Faithful Linux enthusiast

FlyingBlackbird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: vkQuaje runs Quake 1 (shareware) perfectly
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2020, 07:33:07 am »
Which GPU and driver module do you use?

ClassicHasClass

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: vkQuaje runs Quake 1 (shareware) perfectly
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2020, 07:03:29 pm »
What's better about it as compared to, say, DarkPlaces? (I use that and ioquake3 to get my id fix.)

tle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ruby Journal
Re: vkQuaje runs Quake 1 (shareware) perfectly
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2020, 05:52:26 am »
Quote
Which GPU and driver module do you use?

I am using amdgpu that comes with Linux kernel 5.5.4. My graphic card is Radeon Vega 64
Faithful Linux enthusiast

tle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • Ruby Journal
Re: vkQuaje runs Quake 1 (shareware) perfectly
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2020, 05:58:49 am »
What's better about it as compared to, say, DarkPlaces? (I use that and ioquake3 to get my id fix.)

I am not so familiar with DarkPlaces to answer your question. I think it is just as good as vkQuake / QuakeSpasm.

I love to dig in FTEQW a bit more when I have more free time for gaming.
Faithful Linux enthusiast