Author Topic: Radeon RDNA3 support?  (Read 1654 times)

Hasturtium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Radeon RDNA3 support?
« on: July 07, 2023, 11:14:09 am »
Anybody stepped up to the plate and tried an RDNA3 card with Power yet? Wondering if the RX 7600 or higher would work with a recent kernel.

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +8/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2023, 11:20:38 am »
also wondering.

MPC7500

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +40/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2023, 07:45:40 pm »
Yesterday someone on the Talos IRC reported that he runs a RX 7600 successfully on Fedora 39.
I guess, the same kernel requirements as RDNA2 (Kernel 6.1+). Not sure though.

MauryG5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Karma: +22/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2024, 01:01:02 pm »
We need to understand what exactly is needed to make it work properly. In recent times they have made several AMD driver updates, to understand if very recent firmware is needed, which versions of Mesa drivers are necessary. I would like to mount a Radeon Pro 7700 rdna 3 for example...

Borley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2024, 11:02:36 am »
I have read recently that newer AMD GPUs include a version of PSP. Can this be verified? It is everything dating back to Polaris?
Blackbird C1P9S01, CPU 02CY650, 2x 8GB 2666 RAM, 1024GB M.2 SSD, AMD RX 560X, 2U heatsink, 500W SFX PSU, Debian 11

lepidotos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2024, 05:48:42 am »
I've heard the same too, that it's had it since Vega -- but that it needs PSP or ME on the CPU side too to be effective.
Would anyone happen to know the max length a card can be, and if a 2.25 slot card might fit without blocking the second PCIe slot? Seems like all the RX 7000s are over 2 slots tall besides some of the base 7600s and presumably the 7500s. I'm still unsure of whether or not to go for a 7600 (XT), 7700 XT, W6600, or maybe W6800.

MauryG5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
  • Karma: +22/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2024, 08:35:21 am »
I personally can tell you that if you have a Blackbird and you have to use both PCI express slots, you must necessarily use up to a maximum of 2 slots, otherwise you won't be able to use the second slot.  Unfortunately, the new Radeons are almost all 2.5 and therefore you can't use them.  That's why I was thinking that if there was a possibility, get a 7700 pro that uses 2 slots, even if it costs a lot more unfortunately being pro.  I use the 8 PIN slot for the sound card so I'm one of those who necessarily needs to use 2-slot graphics cards and no more.

MPC7500

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +40/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2024, 08:58:29 am »
Indeed. Unfortunately, only 7600s are currently available as dual slot cards. Starts at 280€ (Germany).
Then there are the Pro cards (W7500 - W7800) as single and dual slot. Start at approx. 450€.
However, these are not any faster than the consumer cards.

Borley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Radeon RDNA3 support?
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2024, 09:45:45 pm »
I've heard the same too, that it's had it since Vega -- but that it needs PSP or ME on the CPU side too to be effective.

Do you know where I might find literature on this? In what way does it attempt to link to the CPU PSP?
Blackbird C1P9S01, CPU 02CY650, 2x 8GB 2666 RAM, 1024GB M.2 SSD, AMD RX 560X, 2U heatsink, 500W SFX PSU, Debian 11