Author Topic: SATA ports on the fritz?  (Read 518 times)

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
SATA ports on the fritz?
« on: January 28, 2023, 04:54:41 pm »
I purchased a PCIe to NVMe adapter, cloned the contents of my SATA SSD to the new drive on a different machine, installed the NVMe drive with my existing Fedora 37 install... and the new drive wouldn't boot past initializing the Radeon in my Blackbird. So, resigned to the incompatibility, I removed the NVMe drive, set up the SATA SSD again, and booted, only to see a new error appear in my Petitboot loader, kAFS not found, with an error code of -97. Booting afterward proceeds normally, up until the Radeon is initialized for the login screen, at which point the display signal gets flaky and visible artifacting occurs intermittently. Shutting the system down afterward proceeds more or less normally, as far as I can tell.

The issue appears to be limited to SATA0 and SATA1 - I can boot the machine normally from SATA2 or SATA3. I am genuinely flummoxed here - does anyone have any insight?

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2023, 06:39:12 pm »
Update: problem appears to have spread, no matter which SATA ports I use X11 doesn’t successfully initialize the Radeon any more. Putting in an RMA request with Raptor - we’ll see what they say.

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 403
  • Karma: +29/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2023, 10:42:29 am »
I agree this sounds hardware-related. Haven't seen anything like that on my own Blackbird, though it did have to get RMAed because the BMC video went bananas.

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2023, 11:55:16 am »
I agree this sounds hardware-related. Haven't seen anything like that on my own Blackbird, though it did have to get RMAed because the BMC video went bananas.

Define "bananas." Mine would very occasionally have some kind of issue where the BMC would either fail to output video, or would output garbled video that was illegible. The only solution to those was to turn the machine off, turn the power supply off, wait a few seconds, then allow the BMC to fully reinitialize. That would fix it.

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 403
  • Karma: +29/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2023, 04:04:21 pm »
It eventually started showing a red background on everything and abnormal colours, when it showed video at all. I think that qualifies as "bananas." ;)

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2023, 08:45:58 pm »
That definitely qualifies. Haven't gotten an update on the support ticket I placed a week ago, so I believe I'll give them a call on Monday.

MPC7500

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Karma: +33/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2023, 08:50:15 am »
You also could give me your ticket number. I could post it on Twitter.

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2023, 10:36:21 am »
You also could give me your ticket number. I could post it on Twitter.

Thank you - I deleted my account there recently. My ticket number is #493290.

MPC7500

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Karma: +33/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2023, 11:08:46 am »

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2023, 06:01:39 pm »
Thanks again. I sent my motherboard off today - now I wait for the RMA.

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2023, 02:01:04 am »
And we're back. :) Hello!

MPC7500

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Karma: +33/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2023, 08:13:29 am »
Only two weeks? Wow!
And everything working now?

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2023, 09:10:38 pm »
Only two weeks? Wow!
And everything working now?

Yes, I'm honestly a little shocked. They were great about communicating with me, and I've been pleased as punch that a replacement came in, I moved everything to a newer case with better cable management, and it all just... came right back up.

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 403
  • Karma: +29/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2023, 04:07:38 pm »
Excellent!

vikings.thum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
    • Vikings
Re: SATA ports on the fritz?
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2023, 05:52:21 am »
Only two weeks? Wow!
And everything working now?

Yes, I'm honestly a little shocked. They were great about communicating with me, and I've been pleased as punch that a replacement came in, I moved everything to a newer case with better cable management, and it all just... came right back up.

Not related but CWCID; I also had an issue last week and the responses from Timothy came flying like raptors.
https://store.vikings.net
XMPP: thum@jabber.vikings.net
Libera.Chat IRC: #vikings (handle: 'thum')