Author Topic: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!  (Read 261 times)

power9mm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2023, 05:30:41 am »
have you tried playing it with SMT disabled? i'm curious if theres a performance difference.

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2023, 10:46:26 am »
have you tried playing it with SMT disabled? i'm curious if theres a performance difference.

I wouldn’t expect much - Quake II’s CPU demands are trivial. I genuinely think the Ogg Vorbis support for music playback would dwarf the demands of the game itself. Running Q2RTX with the OpenGL renderer reliably nets between 920-1000 fps on my config at 4K!

The overwhelming share of the computational grunt needed will be demanded of the GPU itself. I expect any weird stuttering to be down to things like vsync being enabled by some part of the display stack despite what Q2RTX expects, or similar issues. Out of curiosity how do you configure or disable SMT? I’ve been meaning to try it in order to determine its impact on some other titles, chief among them GZDoom…

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2023, 01:24:59 pm »
Ah, thanks for that. I've been toying with getting a new GPU, and maybe this is what pushes me over the edge. Do you have the firmware loaded for Petitboot?

power9mm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2023, 03:05:39 pm »
i think SMT is configured in petitboot but i'm not sure. haven't booted my system yet. I dont think it would do much for quake 2 rtx either though.

also, you play it online yet lol?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2023, 03:51:22 pm by power9mm »

Hasturtium

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2023, 07:39:40 pm »
Ah, thanks for that. I've been toying with getting a new GPU, and maybe this is what pushes me over the edge. Do you have the firmware loaded for Petitboot?

I do not - never got an answer for which subset of Radeon firmware should be loaded, so I have the BMC’s video going to HDMI2, then toggle over to DisplayPort for the Radeon.

No multiplayer yet - my twitch skills are mostly intact, but I’d have to find servers!

power9mm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2023, 08:17:43 pm »
https://www.quakeservers.net/quake2/servers/

tastyspleen always has players on their DM servers usually.

tle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
  • Karma: +39/-0
    • View Profile
    • Trung's Personal Website
Re: [GAMES] Quake II RTX!
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2023, 07:29:22 pm »
@tle, also being a Fedoran, which card and which kernel (I'm currently on 6.1.6)?

I am using 6600 XT. Kernel is 6.1.x. AFAK 6.1.6 works perfectly
Faithful Linux enthusiast

My Raptor Blackbird