Author Topic: AMD GPU at boot  (Read 1491 times)

Woof

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2022, 10:51:22 am »
Resurrecting this thread for anyone interested/curious... I mentioned forever ago I'd post some findings comparing the Power9 with other CPUs for my CPU-based number crunching needs.

For my latest work, the single-threaded initial implementation took about half an hour to run on my Xeon desktop, and any experimentation meant really thinking it through before a run.

Breaking down the calculations and into chunks then running on all threads, the slowest Threadripper at work, a 3060X, took 20 seconds, and the fastest, an overclocked water-cooled 3990X, took 8 seconds! The 24 core Xeon took 1m13s.

In comparison my 144 core Power9 takes 19 seconds, but, since the algorithm is broken into 256 chunks, it processes the first 128 batches followed by 112, with the processor showing 77% usage partway through, whereas the Threadrippers keep the CPU at 100%. Still, it's a good indication and the machine compares well with a 3060X.

All this said, the software was never optimised for Power (it has some SIMD for Intel), and I've found both Clang and GCC to be quite variable on Power. GGC 10 gave the best results, with Clang 15 the worst (27 seconds; I have a whole Clang/GCC rant for another day).

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2022, 12:39:20 pm »
Interesting numbers. I would expect that figure to improve with software refinement.

Woof

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2022, 03:05:52 pm »
To add to the numbers, a MacBook Pro with M1 Max runs the same in 47s.

When we finally get some 5995X TRs at work I'll run the same on there (I have a feeling it won't beat the OC'd 3990X).

(If anyone has an OC'd Power or something else esoteric I can share the source - it's a project that'll be open sourced after it's shipped anyway, it's a graphics tool.)

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 470
  • Karma: +31/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2022, 04:45:48 pm »
Was this test on POWER only for fun or does your company also develop on POWER? Will there be some optimizations, too?
A chart would be good. The numbers aren't that bad for POWER9 36c/144t against the 64c/128t
« Last Edit: July 29, 2022, 05:00:13 pm by MPC7500 »

Woof

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2022, 05:14:43 am »
I'm using the Talos II at work actually for work, and specifically for crunching numbers (lots of RAM, lots of cores).

Short-ish version of the story: I bought a machine partially to test the possibility of rolling them out to our Linux deep learning teams, and partially out of personal interest. The T2s are too finicky to give them out to others but it ticks a lot of boxes for me personally, plus getting workstation CPUs is difficult, waiting months to get Threadrippers (and supply has totally dried up here now) so I did the little work required to get my tools running on POWER and started using it. I've still not found a good IDE for native dev, so I'm working in Visual Studio on my Windows desktop and then running tasks on the T2.

As for the comparisons with the 64c/128t 3990X, Friday was a slow day ahead of the public holiday here and I thought I'd take a look. On a regular 3990X the code was taking 15s (and on the OC'd one 13s), vs the 19s on my T2 (which given I couldn't keep the cores at 100% is very good), but I spent some time to tune for the specific thread group requirement of the 3990X, taking the timing down to 8s and a very comfortable lead!

As for optimisations, to this code probably not. Once finished it'll run once to precalculate a series of numbers which will go into the end product (a texture tool).

A graph would've been better though.

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 470
  • Karma: +31/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2022, 06:51:14 am »
You are aware that VScode is available, too. Right?

DKnoto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2022, 06:53:43 am »
Apache NetBeans 14 works good. I tested it on AlmaLinux 9 nad Fedora 36.
Desktop: Talos II T2P9S01 REV 1.01 | IBM Power 9/18c DD2.3, 02CY646 | AMD Radeon Pro WX7100 | 64GB RAM | SSD 1TB

Woof

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #22 on: July 30, 2022, 08:15:52 am »
I tried the Kate IDE, for which CMake has a generator, but the step debugger didn't work for me (but it could build). I took a look at Eclipse but only for Java (I maintain some legacy Java stuff at work) but I'm a C++ guy.

I didn't think VSCode was up-to-date? And I'll try Netbeans - I forget these Java-based IDEs have native builders.

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 470
  • Karma: +31/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: AMD GPU at boot
« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2022, 08:32:38 am »
On Void Linux it's up-to-date
https://github.com/void-ppc/void-packages/tree/master/srcpkgs/vscode

CodeBlocks is also a possibility.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2022, 08:35:26 am by MPC7500 »