Author Topic: Necessary firmware for Navi14  (Read 1012 times)

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2023, 01:53:22 pm »
"modprobe.blacklist=ast video=offb:off amdgpu.aspm=0" when i add this in the bootloader for opensuse leap i get no video whatsoever and it just hangs at boot

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
  • Karma: +33/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2023, 02:11:04 pm »
Weird. Some time ago I tried Leap 15.1 with no issue.

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2023, 02:38:28 pm »
perhaps opensuse requires different commands...?

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2023, 02:48:40 pm »
this is what i get when i switch to displayport, and it just hangs here. GPU is amd vega 64. ive had this happen on both tumbleweed and leap.

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2023, 09:32:04 pm »
so it looks like the X display manager fails to start

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2023, 09:41:31 pm »
what i can find..

ClassicHasClass

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 391
  • Karma: +29/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2023, 10:40:46 am »
What about starting X directly from the command line (usually `startx` or some such: I don't run Fedora with a display manager at all)?

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2023, 12:21:16 pm »
well, i installed fedora 37, and i'm still getting the same-ish issue of it just hanging at boot. not sure if its my gpu (amd vega 64) or theres something i'm messing up, but i add those commands and update grub so I'm not sure.

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
  • Karma: +33/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2023, 01:47:12 pm »
Wait. When you're blacklisting the AST GPU you have to switch to the AMD GPU as well.
Means, after you are hitting enter in Petitboot, you have to switch to the port where the AMD GPU is connected, immediately.

Otherwise, the OS don't recognize the AMD GPU.

If you still stay on the AST port after blacklisting this GPU, you will get exactly this picture. It is logical that the Display Manager cannot start then.

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2023, 04:39:26 pm »
I tried that, also tried without an hdmi connected at all and i'd get a blank black screen when the system would switch to DP outpout.

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2023, 06:29:19 pm »
If i'm unable to get the gpu to work via this method would i be able to use a jumper on the AST and have the gpu function without flashing firmware?

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
  • Karma: +33/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2023, 06:45:55 pm »
This will give the same result. But try it. If you set the jumper you will get a black screen at the beginning and the keyboard will not work, IIRC until the OS is loaded.

AST is connected via HDMI?
AMD via DP?

If yes, boot to petitboot.
Switch to DP.
Press enter

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2023, 07:03:21 pm »
I dont have a jumper on hand atm unless i want to pull one off the board which im not going to do. This is what i got when i tried running startx under leap.

I went back to leap after i determined it wasn't a distro specific issue.

worse case scenario, i can flash amd firmware and use the jumper, correct? Would've really preferred not to do that but i'm at a loss at this point

power9mm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Necessary firmware for Navi14
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2023, 06:11:59 pm »
update: got it to work, had to do the xorg conf file in mentioned in the previous page.