Author Topic: Slackware64-Current  (Read 299 times)

jirka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Ordinary Blackbird Owner
    • View Profile
    • Jirka's Notes
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2020, 02:20:41 am »
https://www.riscyslack.org/?feed

It's mostly my ramblings of constantly almost having a useful build.

Thank you! Every information about progress of your work is interesting.
Probably sent from the sforza (a Blackbird workstation with Fedora) or the moose (a SGI O2).

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2020, 08:22:53 pm »
I managed to get an initrd containing the Slackware Setup scripts to boot!

A big step closer to having a proper installable version.

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2020, 11:22:22 pm »
I've updated the mirror a bit with new packages and fixes, and almost always remembered to put something in the Changelog.txt, almost.

There is now an .iso file on the mirror.
https://mirror.riscyslack.org/RiscySlack/current-iso/

I tested it by mounting it as a virtual drive in the OpenBMC console.
Petitboot detected it and allows it to boot.
After that you can fdisk or cfdisk your drives and run Setup like a normal Slackware setup.

You'll have to ignore the MBR error and tell it not to install Lilo.
I haven't modified the Setup script to remove that yet.

After installing you'll need to exit back to bash and chroot /mnt
then run grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

After rebooting Petitboot should detect the install and automatically load it.

If you use the NIC that's shared with the BMC you'll want to edit /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf to set eth2 USE_DHCP[2]="yes"

I've also noticed the gpu doesn't always reinitialize on my Radeon RX580 after reboot.
When that happens I end up having to shutdown, then boot back up.

ClassicHasClass

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2020, 08:55:23 am »
Excellent progress!

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2020, 09:16:35 am »
Playing with it this morning I found that the Konqueror browser works with QTWebEngine, but crashes when set to use QTWebKit or KHTML.
Looks like a QT4 DBus lib is missing.

Working on rebuilding to see if I can get it working.

Krita still just hangs on loading :/

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2020, 12:01:04 pm »
Oh yeah, Slackpkg is patched to support ppc64le for my mirror.