Author Topic: Slackware64-Current  (Read 4060 times)

jirka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Ordinary Blackbird Owner
    • View Profile
    • Jirka's Notes
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2020, 02:20:41 am »
https://www.riscyslack.org/?feed

It's mostly my ramblings of constantly almost having a useful build.

Thank you! Every information about progress of your work is interesting.
Probably sent from the sforza (a Blackbird workstation with Fedora) or the moose (a SGI O2).

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2020, 08:22:53 pm »
I managed to get an initrd containing the Slackware Setup scripts to boot!

A big step closer to having a proper installable version.

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2020, 11:22:22 pm »
I've updated the mirror a bit with new packages and fixes, and almost always remembered to put something in the Changelog.txt, almost.

There is now an .iso file on the mirror.
https://mirror.riscyslack.org/RiscySlack/current-iso/

I tested it by mounting it as a virtual drive in the OpenBMC console.
Petitboot detected it and allows it to boot.
After that you can fdisk or cfdisk your drives and run Setup like a normal Slackware setup.

You'll have to ignore the MBR error and tell it not to install Lilo.
I haven't modified the Setup script to remove that yet.

After installing you'll need to exit back to bash and chroot /mnt
then run grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

After rebooting Petitboot should detect the install and automatically load it.

If you use the NIC that's shared with the BMC you'll want to edit /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf to set eth2 USE_DHCP[2]="yes"

I've also noticed the gpu doesn't always reinitialize on my Radeon RX580 after reboot.
When that happens I end up having to shutdown, then boot back up.

ClassicHasClass

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Talospace Earth Orbit
    • View Profile
    • Floodgap
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2020, 08:55:23 am »
Excellent progress!

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2020, 09:16:35 am »
Playing with it this morning I found that the Konqueror browser works with QTWebEngine, but crashes when set to use QTWebKit or KHTML.
Looks like a QT4 DBus lib is missing.

Working on rebuilding to see if I can get it working.

Krita still just hangs on loading :/

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2020, 12:01:04 pm »
Oh yeah, Slackpkg is patched to support ppc64le for my mirror.

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #21 on: July 12, 2020, 11:38:05 am »
I updated a lot of packages to bring it closer to sync with Slackware64-current.
But of course Mr. Volkerding released new updates well I was doing that.
So its closer, but a moving target.

I managed to get Krita working with the new version of QT5.
Also, managed to figure out enough patches to get QT4 to build, so that exists now.

Its more usable, yay!

MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +18/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #22 on: July 12, 2020, 01:57:37 pm »
Great. Is Volkerding aware of your work?

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #23 on: July 12, 2020, 02:36:05 pm »
He marked one of my posts in the thread on Linux Questions helpful, so I assume that means he's aware.


MPC7500

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +18/-1
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #24 on: November 19, 2020, 10:45:22 am »
I also installed Slackware successfully on my Blackbird.

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #25 on: November 19, 2020, 10:54:17 am »
I also installed Slackware successfully on my Blackbird.

I know its a bit rough and not in sync with upstream yet. But I would love to hear your thoughts on it.



Logout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • VivaPowerPC
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #26 on: January 05, 2021, 03:08:24 am »
Finally managed to get decent 1TB NVMe instead of my ancient 64 GB SATA SSD and therefor I tried my favorite distro, which in fact I use on all my other (x86, x64 and ARM) computers. Everything was smooth, no surprise during the install, Riscy Slackware boots on my 8C Blackbird like a marvel ...

... but then one surprise emerged: It seems that the content of http://mirror.riscyslack.org/RiscySlack/riscyslack64-current/slackware64/ is not the same what is on the current install ISO. To be precise some quite important libraries are missing on the ISO, like libXaw or libXMu, so I couldn't even start xterm. No big deal - downloading txz packages from mirror and installing them manually fixed this. But now I have to find out what else didn't install.

Is there any reason for this?

(Anyway: thanks for bringing my native distro to my native platform!)
VivaPowerPC / 8-core Blackbird, 32 GB RAM, Radeon HD 5450, 1 TB NVMe, Slackware+Void+Gentoo / Back to the roots with brand new boots!

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #27 on: January 05, 2021, 07:55:41 am »
I'm not sure why they are missing, the .iso is generated each morning automatically form the contents of the mirror.

I'll see if I can find out why they weren't there.
Thanks for letting me know.

Logout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • VivaPowerPC
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #28 on: January 05, 2021, 08:00:06 am »
The iso was from January 4th, I still have it somewhere on my drive if needed for examination.
VivaPowerPC / 8-core Blackbird, 32 GB RAM, Radeon HD 5450, 1 TB NVMe, Slackware+Void+Gentoo / Back to the roots with brand new boots!

bw42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slackware64-Current
« Reply #29 on: January 05, 2021, 08:13:13 am »
It looks like when I updated the mirror structure a couple months ago to add the extras mirror I forgot to update my makeiso script for the new folder name.
So it was building the .iso file off an old copy of the current folder that was missing the libXaw and libXmu packages.
Its been corrected and should properly match the riscyslack64-current folder.

Thank you again for letting me know.