Raptor Computing Systems Community Forums (BETA)

Software => Applications and Porting => Topic started by: cchinicz on October 07, 2020, 09:43:36 am

Title: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 07, 2020, 09:43:36 am
Hi folks,

I've searched for know Python GUIs on Fedora repo but could not find any.

Anybody found a Python GUI for Fedora?

Thanks
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: tle on October 08, 2020, 05:53:35 am
What is Python GUIs?
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: Borley on October 08, 2020, 06:41:46 pm
The tk module? Or OP might be referring to the IDEs. Does Fedora not package idle-python for POWER?
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 09, 2020, 03:17:18 am
What is Python GUIs?
Graphical User Interface. Thanks
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 09, 2020, 03:18:32 am
The tk module? Or OP might be referring to the IDEs. Does Fedora not package idle-python for POWER?
Hi, I could not find idle-python in the Fedora ppc64el repo. Thanks
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: MPC7500 on October 09, 2020, 10:23:22 am
At least a RPM (http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/search.php?query=python-idle&submit=Search+...&system=&arch=ppc64le) is available.

Graphical User Interface. Thanks

I think, tle knows what a GUI is ;D
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 12, 2020, 12:37:40 am
At least a RPM (http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/search.php?query=python-idle&submit=Search+...&system=&arch=ppc64le) is available.

Graphical User Interface. Thanks

I think, tle knows what a GUI is ;D

Hi, thanks for your reply and for referencing python-idle for ppc64el.

I've tried installing it but was missing dependencies (sudo rpm -U python-idle-2.7.18-2.2.ppc64le.rpm):
python-base = 2.7.18 is needed by python-idle-2.7.18-2.2.ppc64le
        python-tk is needed by python-idle-2.7.18-2.2.ppc64le

I could not find python-base for ppc64el although "Package python27-2.7.18-2.fc32.ppc64le is already installed." (I issued command sudo dnf install python2.7). Any ideas?

I did find python-tk but again ran into errors (udo rpm -U python-tk-2.7.18-2.ppc64le.rpm):
ile / from install of python-tk-2.7.18-2.ppc64le conflicts with file from package filesystem-3.14-2.fc32.ppc64le
        file /usr/lib from install of python-tk-2.7.18-2.ppc64le conflicts with file from package filesystem-3.14-2.fc32.ppc64le

Any ideas?

Thanks
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: tle on October 12, 2020, 02:44:28 am
AFAIK python2 is retired in FC32, see https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Changes/RetirePython2

Can you use `python3-idle` instead?
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 12, 2020, 03:02:38 am
AFAIK python2 is retired in FC32, see https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Changes/RetirePython2

Can you use `python3-idle` instead?

Hi,

Sure, I'd rather use 3 instead of Python2. I found python3 idle for x86 but not for ppc64el. Would you know where I can find it?

Thanks
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: MPC7500 on October 12, 2020, 08:09:13 am
https://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/fedora/32/ppc64le/p/python3-3.8.2-2.fc32.ppc64le.html
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 12, 2020, 08:37:29 am
https://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/fedora/32/ppc64le/p/python3-3.8.2-2.fc32.ppc64le.html

Hi,

Thanks for sending the link. I've downloaded python3-3.8.2-2.fc32.ppc64le.rpm and installed it but I do not see python-idle. I'm a bit lost, what am I missing? Is it already installed? how do I start it?

Regards
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: MPC7500 on October 12, 2020, 09:18:41 am
On Fedora: dnf search python3-idle

Code: [Select]
python3-idle.ppc64le : A basic graphical development environment for Python
Title: Re: Python GUI for ppc64 (Fedora 32)
Post by: cchinicz on October 12, 2020, 09:51:38 am
On Fedora: dnf search python3-idle

Code: [Select]
python3-idle.ppc64le : A basic graphical development environment for Python
Great! Now it's working.

Thanks